Administrators

The governing authority of the City of Clarkesville consists of the Mayor and five City Council members who are elected at large and serve four year terms. At their first meeting each calendar year the Mayor Pro-Tem is selected by the City Council.


The City Council represents the interests of citizens of Clarkesville by adopting public policies; determining the City's mission, scope of service, and tax levels; passing ordinances; approving new projects and programs; and ratifying the budget.


Appointed by and reporting to the City Council, the City Manager serves as the Chief Administrative Officer and is charged with the implementation of City Council adopted policies and directives and the day-to-day operations of the City. The City Manager is responsible for hiring directors to oversee each department.



Barrie Aycock, Mayor

baycock@clarkesvillega.com

Barrie was elected to the Clarkesville City Council in January of 2014. She resigned in December 2015 to run for Mayor and began term as Mayor in March 2016.

Casey Ramsey, Mayor Pro-Tempore

cramsey@clarkesvillega.com

Casey Ramsey was first elected to City Council in 2008.  He was reelected to the council for the 2012 and 2016 terms.  

Tina Courson Evans, Council Member

tevans@clarkesvillega.com

Tina Courson Evans was first elected to City Council in 2007, served for 7 years, then re-elected in 2016.

Leigh Johnston, Council Member

ljohnston@clarkesvillega.com

Leigh Johnston was elected in 2014 and has served for two years.

Bruce Lewallen, Council Member

brucelewallen@clarkesvillega.com

Bruce Lewallen was elected to the council in 2016.

Franklin Brown, Council Member

fbrown@clarkesvillega.com

Franklin Brown was first elected to City Council in 2006, and has served for ten years.



Barbara Kesler, City Manager

bkesler@clarkesvillega.com

Barbara was appointed City Manager in 2008 and has served six years.

 

Glenda Smith, City Clerk

gsmith@clarkesvillega.com

Glenda Smith is Clarkesville's City Clerk. Glenda's duties include processing business and alcohol licenses, as well as server's permits. Glenda is always on-hand to answer questions about the City.

E-Verify: City of Clarkesville Participates in the E-Verify Program as required by Georgia State Law (O.C.G.A. Section 13-10-91). The City of Clarkesville's identification number is 99919 and date of authorization was February 13, 2008.

Online Utility Bill Pay will be available in February.

We apologize for any inconveniece this may cause as we work to include this feature into our new site. Please check back in February.

Sign Up now.