The governing authority of the City of Clarkesville consists of the Mayor and five City Council members who are elected at large and serve four year terms. At their first meeting each calendar year the Mayor Pro-Tem is selected by the City Council.

The City Council represents the interests of citizens of Clarkesville by adopting public policies; determining the City's mission, scope of service, and tax levels; passing ordinances; approving new projects and programs; and ratifying the budget.

Appointed by and reporting to the City Council, the City Manager serves as the Chief Administrative Officer and is charged with the implementation of City Council adopted policies and directives and the day-to-day operations of the City. The City Manager is responsible for hiring directors to oversee each department.

Barrie Aycock, Mayor

Barrie was elected to the Clarkesville City Council in January of 2014. She resigned in December 2015 to run for Mayor and began her term as Mayor in March 2016.

E. Lane Gresham, Mayor Pro Tempore

E. Lane Gresham was elected to the council in 2020 to fill an unexpired term. She is the former Better Hometown [Main Street] Director for the city and served on the Clarkesville Planning Commission. She is a former newspaper editor and currently serves as the Director of Communications and Media for Tallulah Falls School.

Roxie Barron, Council Member

Roxie Barron was elected to the City Council in 2018 to fill a vacant seat. She also serves on the Downtown Development Authority and Soque River Watershed Association. Prior to being elected, Roxie served on the Main Street Board and North Ga. Housing Authority.

Franklin Brown, Council Member

Franklin Brown has served on the Council since being elected in 2006.

Terry Gladden, Council Member

Terry Gladden was elected to City Council in 2017. Prior to being elected, Terry served on the Clarkesville Planning and Zoning Commission for 6 and a half years.

Steven Ward, Council Member

Steven Ward was elected to serve Post 5 in 2018. His term will run until 2021. Mr. Ward works for Pruitt Health

Keith Dickerson, City Manager

Cell: (762) 230-3683

Glenda Smith, City Clerk

Glenda Smith is Clarkesville's City Clerk. Glenda's duties include processing business and alcohol licenses, as well as server's permits.

E-Verify: City of Clarkesville Participates in the E-Verify Program as required by Georgia State Law (O.C.G.A. Section 13-10-91). The City of Clarkesville's identification number is 99919 and date of authorization was February 13, 2008.

Online Utility Bill Pay will be available in February.

We apologize for any inconveniece this may cause as we work to include this feature into our new site. Please check back in February.

Sign Up now.